New registrations are temporarily disabled due to a fault with our email system. We are working to resolve this.

Windows XP / MagicQ

Moderator: ChamSys.be

Windows XP / MagicQ

Postby factotum » Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:32 pm

Hi everyone.

Helping a venue refit / upgrade.

They are currently using an HP Thin Client PC to run MagicQ.

I didn't pay close attention to the installed version (or that v1.8.5.6 doesn't list XP) and had a crack at uninstalling the old and putting in the new.

I got a failure caused by the extremely small storage space (400MB for files, 96MB Flash RAM) when installing off the desktop (C:) so tried again without luck from my USB flash drive. Failure seems to be lack of space for expanding the installer.

I tried using 7-zip to expand the .exe installer to a folder on my laptop and dropping that folder to the desktop of the Thin Client. That folder appears to be "portable" (works on my laptop) but I get some .DLL errors on the Thin Client.

What is the last version of MagicQ that supported XP?

Anything I can try to make this work? Client (as per usual) has no budget for a new PC...

Cheers!
factotum
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Country: Australia

Re: Windows XP / MagicQ

Postby ChamSys.be » Mon Jul 06, 2020 1:01 pm

This is the latest verison that supports Windows XP:
MagicQ Windows X (v.1.7.3.8) - https://secure.chamsys.co.uk/bugtracker/download_file.php?file_id=0&version=201&platform=windows&type=soft&
ChamSys.be
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7075
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: Lebbeke
Country: Belgium

Re: Windows XP / MagicQ

Postby factotum » Mon Jul 06, 2020 2:01 pm

Is it just me or is the link to the XP download broken?

Legacy Page :

https://secure.chamsys.co.uk/bugtracker ... legacy.php

Link :

https://secure.chamsys.co.uk/bugtracker ... type=soft&
factotum
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Country: Australia

Re: Windows XP / MagicQ

Postby ChamSys.be » Mon Jul 06, 2020 2:40 pm

It is working fine, but you need to login on the bugtracker!
ChamSys.be
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7075
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: Lebbeke
Country: Belgium

Re: Windows XP / MagicQ

Postby factotum » Mon Jul 06, 2020 2:53 pm

Odd - I was logged in.

Logged out and in again and it worked this time!

Thanks!
factotum
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Country: Australia


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron