New registrations are temporarily disabled due to a fault with our email system. We are working to resolve this.

Delay on MagicHD compared to local

MagicQ controlling Media Servers (Coolux Pandoras Box, Hippotizer, MBox, Catalyst, Arkaos,....)

Moderator: ChamSys.be

Delay on MagicHD compared to local

Postby bildic » Sun Mar 27, 2016 3:00 pm

Hello

I am testing Media server and have this problem.

I have with PC_1 included chamsys pc wing compact (universe 1-2)
and throught switch ZyXEL(GS-105B) ENTtec OpenDMX ethernet (universe 3, IPaddress 2.0.3.100 ).

My settings:
PC_1 (magicq version 1.7.1.0) IP Address 2.0.3.3/ 255.0.0.0/
PC_2 (MagicHD) IP Address 2.0.3.4/255.0.0.0/


With these settings i have on PC_2 with MagicHD delayed reaction compared to PC_1 local output.
Only if black hearth (PC_2- MagicHD) light there is immediate reaction.
When blinking NO DMX it dont get the signal and i must wait till again black hearth is lighting.
Every 5 seconds change status between NO DMX and black hearth.

I tested with more servers too.(i add server 2 on IP address 2.0.3.4)

When i turn off ENTtec OpenDMX ethernet and use only on 1 or 2 universe MagicHD didnt work on PC_2.

Please can someone tell me what is wrong?
Thank you.

Jan
Attachments
pct3.JPG
View media
pct3.JPG (40.68 KiB) Viewed 1149 times
pct4.JPG
Patch
pct4.JPG (77.84 KiB) Viewed 1149 times
pct5.JPG
Media
pct5.JPG (47.84 KiB) Viewed 1149 times
Last edited by bildic on Sun Mar 27, 2016 3:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.
bildic
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 3:28 pm
Country: Slovakia

Re: Delay on MagicHD compared to local

Postby bildic » Sun Mar 27, 2016 3:04 pm

Next images.
Attachments
pct1.JPG
View I/O
pct1.JPG (44.15 KiB) Viewed 1149 times
pct2.JPG
Network settings
pct2.JPG (36.73 KiB) Viewed 1149 times
bildic
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 3:28 pm
Country: Slovakia

Re: Delay on MagicHD compared to local

Postby alanmcconachie » Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:25 pm

I've been chasing this same problem for the last few hours whilst setting up a backup media server.
The new server kept showing approx 3s periods of NO DMX then it would work correctly for 3s.

I've eventually tracked it down to firewall settings. mqhd appears to need both private and public access through the firewall (See Screenshot.) I only had the private access enabled on the new server. :cry:

mqhd.PNG
mqhd.PNG (59.23 KiB) Viewed 1114 times


Where I may have gone wrong is that the windows account that I installed and first ran MagicHD from was a Standard rather than Admin user so the rules perhaps did not get correctly setup when prompted on first logon.

I've set this up before on several machines but this was the first time seeing this behaviour but there is a good chance I've always been an admin before. So much for trying to keep the machine locked to minimal rights.
alanmcconachie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:02 pm
Country: United Kingdom


Return to MagicQ controlling Mediaservers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest