New registrations are temporarily disabled due to a fault with our email system. We are working to resolve this.

How to separate heads

MagicQ PC and console software.

Moderator: ChamSys.be

How to separate heads

Postby borianparker » Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:14 pm

When I patch my heads into the program, for some reason all of the heads are working together and I can't get them to work separately. So when I push "locate" on the head at 001-1, all of the lights turn on. When I push "locate" on any other head, nothing turns on. Now, in the visualizer, they all turn on separately like they should. But when I have the actual lights plugged in they don't.

If it helps, I'm using ETC Colorsource PAR lights. I've been working on this for hours and the only thing I can figure is I'm using only one outlet for all of them and they are all connected together by the power in/power thru cords. Would that make a difference?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, I am still learning.
https://subwaysurfers.vip/ https://psiphon.vip/ https://hillclimbracing.vip/
Last edited by borianparker on Sun Sep 30, 2018 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
borianparker
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:13 pm

Re: How to separate heads

Postby ChamSys.be » Mon Sep 24, 2018 6:02 pm

If they work separate in the visualiser, then the real fixtures have probably all the same DMX address?
Each spot needs his own address, like in the patch.
ChamSys.be
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7126
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: Lebbeke
Country: Belgium

Re: How to separate heads

Postby lumusislight » Fri Jan 29, 2021 3:22 pm

Hello,

The spots may have the same DMX address - that's causing the problem. I faced the same issue. Even if you put 4 different heads on all separate universes, it won't help.


essaytyper.pro

Lumuss type form lsc.edu
lumusislight
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:08 am
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Country: United States

Re: How to separate heads

Postby ChamSys.be » Fri Jan 29, 2021 3:25 pm

Same address, different universe is working perfect. Then you can control each fixture separately.
ChamSys.be
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7126
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: Lebbeke
Country: Belgium

Re: How to separate heads

Postby jwbosch » Sat Jan 30, 2021 10:29 pm

lumusislight wrote:Hello,

The spots may have the same DMX address - that's causing the problem. I faced the same issue. Even if you put 4 different heads on all separate universes, it won't help.


essaytyper.pro

Lumuss type form lsc.edu

I think you misinterpret universes for outputs of a DMX booster, which are all the same universe. A booster is just a intelligent splitter.
jwbosch
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:52 pm
Country: Netherlands


Return to MagicQ software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests