Page 1 of 1

QLab automation...

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:35 pm
by writho02
Hi guys,

I'm extremely new to MagicQ and lighting in general, so i apologise in advance for lack of terminology!

I run a function band, and also play in it. The goal is to have all songs to click through QLab, and send timecode to MagicQ to run the lighting, on the same MacBook Pro, so that EVERYTHING is automated.

The setlist could change at a moment's notice, or even on the gig. So I'm thinking the best way would be to have the first 10 playbacks on each page assigned to a particular song. Am i right in thinking that then, for every song selected in QLab, I'd have to send a midi message to MagicQ to 1st, select the page, 2nd put the fader up on the appropriate playback, 3rd hit GO on that playback, and then finally when the song has finished, send a midi message to release that playback/put the fader down?

Is there an easier way to do this?

I would also be sending timecode from QLab.

Thanks in advance!

Re: QLab automation...

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:45 pm
by ChamSys.be
Which Type of MagicQ system do you use?

Re: QLab automation...

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:44 pm
by writho02
ChamSys.be wrote:Which Type of MagicQ system do you use?


Sorry, I'm using MagicQ software on Mac. Using a dongle to let me use external timecode and MIDI.

Re: QLab automation...

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 7:40 am
by ChamSys.be
If you use the MagicQ Rackmount dongle, then all this should be possible.

Re: QLab automation...

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:53 am
by writho02
Thank you, but I mainly would like to know if there’s an easier way to set up my show than this, without sending so many midi commands to start a playback?

Re: QLab automation...

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:50 am
by ChamSys.be
Somebody or something has to activate the playback.
You can do it also in the Macro - View Automation Window. When a certain timecode is received it can activate the Playback.

Releasing of the playback you can do at the end of the playback in the last step, this way you need less commands to activate/release.

Re: QLab automation...

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 5:13 pm
by richard csl
Put each song on a different page, have the master cue stack page option active on page change activated, at end of stack Macro R0 release cue stack. and also on page change release cue stack.