Page 1 of 1

Mixed DMX output Wing/Art-Net

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:22 am
by alexnasa
Hi there,

First of all, I'm pretty sure I know the answer to my question, but I don't have my gear with me and I won't have time for trials&errors on the show day.

I have a PC Wing + Laptop. I usually use an Ethernet => DMX node (8 universes). In my DMX I/O setup, Uni 1-8 are set to Art-Net, and everything just works fine. Uni 1&2 ouputs are shared between wing and Art-Net.

For my next show, I'll need 10 universes, so I'd like to have uni 1-2 output from the wing and 3-10 from Art-Net.
If i'm not mistaking, changing the Out Type to MQ Wing, will output ONLY from the wing. So, if my setup is :
Uni 1&2 - Out Type: MQ Wing
Uni 3-10 - Out Type : Art-Net
I will have my 10 universes, right ? Is there any other option to change ?

Thanks !

Re: Mixed DMX output Wing/Art-Net

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 2:33 pm
by ChamSys.be
Don't change the Out type, leave it like it is. Just activate universes 9 and 10 and set them to ArtNet.
Start universe of the node was 0-0, change it in 0-2.

Re: Mixed DMX output Wing/Art-Net

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 12:43 pm
by alexnasa
thanks for the quick help !
but what do i do with the 0-0 and 0-1 universes then ? I get the "!" mark if i change as you said
or do you mean changing the setup on the hardware ? not MQ software?

Re: Mixed DMX output Wing/Art-Net

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 7:54 pm
by ChamSys.be
Yes changing setup in hardware. Otherwise you get conflicts, you can't send out the same universe more than once!